The Secret to Silky Skin…

Hello Friends!

Do you want to know the bizarre ingredient to having super soft skin? Well you’ve come to the right blog.

When I was younger, my mum fed me this delicious sweet soup which (if I can remember) contained tapioca and tasteless translucent strings of jelly and it tasted of coconut. I absolutely loved it and I never questioned it, I just ate it. As any person would as they grow older, you start becoming a little bit curious and you start asking questions. I never needed to ask about this tasty ‘soup’ because I eased dropped on a conversation my mum was having with a friend who was also giving this soup a try and I was shocked to find that the jelly was in fact bird saliva. Yes, SALIVA.

thumb_600

So what is this weird ingredient and why is it good for your skin? The saliva comes from a bird called the Cave Swiftlet found in Southeast Asia- these birds make their nests with their saliva and it hardens to form a little nest.

 The these birds nests are considered a the “caviar” of the East. These white nests contain  EGF (epidermal growth factor) which helps bind specific cells to repair the tissue of the outer surface of your skin, leaving your skin soft and tender. It also helps with blood circulation for a healthy body and skin.

I don’t have perfect skin myself  as I suffered from acne when I was growing up and I have super sensitive skin but in the past few years, I have been exposed to new skincare that are able to accommodate to my difficult skin type and the one that has worked the best for me just so happens to be products that use the bird saliva. The thought doesn’t put me off, in fact makes me want to use it more. The concept is so intriguing.

These are the products I use:

Processed with VSCO with t1 presetProcessed with VSCO with t1 presetProcessed with VSCO with t1 presetProcessed with VSCO with t1 preset

I don’t use these every single night (although that would be a dream to my skin) because it is expensive to purchase and hard to get but I use it 2-3 times a week to ensure that my skin stays bright and soft all the time.

Firstly, I ensure that my skin is clean before I place the mask on my face. Once the mask is on my face, I squeeze the excess liquid from the packet and apply it on top of the mask and drag it down to my neck- always apply product to your neck to avoid it ageing quicker. The mask is kept on for about 20-30 minutes and then I take two large cotton pads and soak it in water and then squeeze the water out and wipe the residue off of my face and then continue with the eye mask which helps get rid of your dark circles and nourishes your under eyes. After 10-15 minutes, I take them off and finish with my moisturiser- Aveeno.  For me, this is a night time routine as it is a nice way to end your busy day and you’re able to wake up with fresh skin but of course, this can be done at any time of the day.

Now I’m not sure where you can buy the bird nests if you want to try and make this soup but if you have a search through Chinese supermarkets or online, you may be able to stumble across some of it but maybe just stick to skincare if you don’t feel bold enough. The links listed below will give you access to different skincare products that contain the birds nest saliva.

Products by SNP: hikoreanfashion.com

Products by Bio-Essence: www.bioessence.com

Note: Bird nest saliva is very expensive to buy and may or may not help everyones skin.

I really hope that this gave you a slight insight into Asian skincare products and how this weird and wonderful ingredient can help with having radiant and healthy skin. Be sure to tune into more blog posts!

Kimberley xo

Leave a Reply

